2016 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview

The Formula One F1 series will race the 2016 Hungarian Grand Prix at the Hungaroring circuit in Budapest, Hungary for the 31st time. The race distance is 70 laps around a 2.722 mile / 4.381 track. The front straight is the shortest of the season at just 700 meters, while the rest of the circuit twists and turns.

In the current field of drivers, six have won the Hungarian Grand Prix including: Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso, Daniel Ricciardo, Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

Nico Rosberg took Pole in his Mercedes after a yellow stop Lewis Hamilton from completing his final run for Pole.

However, Hungary is not Rosberg’s track.

In fact, Rosberg’s best finish is two fourth place finishes in 2009 & 2014. He has finished 8th or worse here seven times in ten Grand Prix.

Hungary is Hamilton’s track.

Hamilton has won four times in nine attempts at Hungary, and he’s taken Pole five times in ten attempts.

Another interesting stat – that might give you a chuckle – McLaren have won six of the last eleven Grand Prix in Hungary.

But that won’t happen this year.

That being said, maybe the statistics won’t matter this year. Three times the Hungarian Grand Prix been won from Pole in the last 11 years – all three times it was Hamilton. The other seven Grand Prix have been won from a lower starting position, including Jenson Button from 14th in a Honda back in 2006.

Here is another interesting one – Sebastian Vettel had never won here until last season. Even during his four world championship drives.

Vettel has started on the front row five of the last eight races in Hungary, finishing second in 2011 was his previous best result.

With all that in mind, it is still an easy decision for our pick… Lewis Hamilton will win.

Should Hamilton fail to win, you’ll have to keep an eye on Rosberg, but it may be neither.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *